Tapejara: pelvic girdle

I already had made the pelvic bones, but the sternum complex was missing. I didn’t find any realiable source with a perfect sternum, so I used as a source the same azhdarchoid sternum that I used in Tupuxuara, and adjusted it so it would fit the Tapejara pelvis (from SMNK PAL 1137). They are 5 sacral vertebrae, and two dorsal ones with lateral processes fused to the preacetabular processes of the ilium.

I cut it out in one piece from a sheet of 2mm foam, and added the stacked vertebral bodies sculpted out of thicker (yellow) foam. Here are two views of the sacrum after treating with fire.

sacrum 2 sacrum 1

Four views of the finished sacrum.

lateral ventral posterior anterior

Next step: assemble the pectoral girdle. I now have all the parts.

parts

I wish I had smaller pins.

testing dorsal dorsal w pelvis testing lateral anterior with pelvis posterior with pelvis

I placed a rubber tube through the vertebrae acting as a spinal cord. It will be used to attach the pelvic girdle to the dorsal spine and to attach the tail on the other side.

ventral w pelvis

I now can test all the connections. Here is the Tapejara dressed in its pelvic girdle.pelvis and sacrum

A dorsal view.

dorsal assembly

And a ventral one. It’s almost finished. I’m already prototyping the pre-pubis and gastralia, but before I assemble the rest I will cover what I have so far with epoxi resin (I can’t use pins anymore).

ventral assembly lateral assembly

1 Comment

Filed under Pterosaur #7: Tapejara

One response to “Tapejara: pelvic girdle

  1. Pingback: Imaginary Pterosaur #7: Tapejara wellnhoferi finished | The Imaginary Pterosaur

Leave a Reply

