Unfinished Tapejara skull

To finish the skull I need to research details of the bones that form the base of the skull (occipital) and the inside, specially the bone(s) that pass between the optic lobes and connect the braincase/basisphenoid bone, to the occipital condyle and palate. I am not sure about what these bones are called. All the specimens I have lack that part. I think they are the pterygoid, epipterygoid and basioccipital. When I have diagrams or photos of these bones, I can finish the skull.

Of course I do have some sketches and a very simplified 3D model, and I could base it on my previous models, but that is “plan B” since I want to be as accurate as possible with this replica. So I decided to finish the skull later and start working on the vertebrae next week.

I finished the neurocranium and added a layer of acrylic resin. Before the resin, the full foam-only skull weighed 10 grams. Now it weighs 50 grams, but it should lose 50% of that weight when all the water evaporates. I also stained it a bit with coffee.

To model the neurocranium I used mostly SMNK PAL 1137. Here are some pictures.

nc_side

nc_front

nc_under

When I finish the skull, the braincase below might no longer be visible. Several bones and details from this view are missing.

brain

When I add the occipital bones (necessary to connect the cervical vertebrae) very little of it will still be visible.

This is a view of the skull from underneath, showing the mandible connected to the quadrate bones, and the back of the skull, which is mostly unfinished.

under

Most bones are just pinned in place. I will only glue them when I finish.

front top

front_bottom

side

front1

top1

back1

side3

side1

1 Comment

Filed under Pterosaur #7: Tapejara

One response to “Unfinished Tapejara skull

  1. Pingback: Imaginary Pterosaur #7: Tapejara wellnhoferi finished | The Imaginary Pterosaur

Leave a Reply

