Tupuxuara: planning the wings

Tupuxuara’s wingspan is about 4.5 metres wide. The wing connects to the scapulocoracoid through the humerus, which is the arm bone. Then come the radio-ulna pair (forearm), carpal bones (wrist), metacarpals (hand) and fingers. There is one large finger which is the wing. It’s metacarpal and phalanges are more than two thirds of the length of the wing.

This is a diagram of the right wing showing the sources that I have (Iwaki museum) in brown. The parts that are missing are shown in white. I will have to invent them. Click to see a larger image.

DCF 1.0

Most of my sources are four photographs of each bone, showing four sides. I have no photos of the bones viewed from the tips. I will have to do my best to discover their shape from the pictures I have. I will certainly miss details (concavities, for example) unless I can infer them from shadows.

I will start with the humerus but will make all the bones at the same time (it’s faster that way and I can let the glue dry better before carving and shaping).

1 Comment

Filed under Pterosaur #5: Tupuxuara

One response to “Tupuxuara: planning the wings

  1. Pingback: Making of a Tupuxuara | The Imaginary Pterosaur

Leave a Reply

