Tupandactylus skull details and mandible

Almost all the foam work is done for Tupandactylus. Now I will coat it with acrylic resin and use gauze + resin to fill in cavities. This the mandible.

mandible foam

This is the inner part of the mandible. These cracks I will fill later with the acrylic resin (modelling paste).

mandible foam inside

I also worked on the details inside the head, the brain case, the orbit and temporal cavities. This is a view from the back of the head showing the upper temporal fenestra and parietal bones.

cavities

This is the back and bottom of the skull. The shiny round piece of plastic on the left side is part of the occipital bone, where the cervical spine will be attached. I have to reinforce this later with epoxy resin since I hope to be able to make a detachable yet strong connection for the spine.

back

I still do a lot of guesswork since I don’t have enough pictures of the pterosaurs I am making, and I have only just recently started studying a bit about skulls. I am, as usual, relying on the fact that I can always fix it later as I have done so far: research a bit, do it, see what is not right, research again, fix it, and so on. It is a good method because I can quickly start working on a three-dimensional sketch. I can test it and see what does and does not work (instead of spending a long time investigating drawings and pictures and reading scientific papers that I do not have enough background to yet understand). By testing, I can better understand the structural purpose of each bone, and it helps me direct my research to the problem I need to solve. When I do additional research after that, it is much more productive, and interesting. When I read a scientific paper after working on a 3D model, I can understand a lot more.

The Imaginary Pterosaur family

While I am making the Tupandactylus, I am also working on a toothless dsungaripterid. Here is a family portrait of all four Imaginary Pterosaurs.

four pterosaurs

1 Comment

Filed under Pterosaur #3: Tupandactylus

One response to “Tupandactylus skull details and mandible

  1. Pingback: Pterosaur #3: Tupandactylus. Finished skull. | The Imaginary Pterosaur

Leave a Reply

